Michael Evan Jurist
Welcome to Michael's Web site Michael's Timeline Michael's Favorites Michael's Writings Tributes to Michael Programs in Honour of Michael Michael's Legacy Experience Michael Share Your Memories of Michael

Programs Established in Michael's Memory
Georgetown University
Michael Jurist Club Sports Award

Programs > Georgetown University > Michael Jurist Club Sports Award

An avid and competitive tennis player, Michael, on arrival at Georgetown University, had ambitions of making the Varsity Tennis Team. He didn’t make the grade. He quickly grasped that Club Sports offered the opportunity of enjoying “his” sport while allowing him time to participate in other sports and/or activities he also enjoyed. Michael was one of the first-ever members of Georgetown University Club Tennis. He liked to mix it up – not be solely dedicated to one master.

In his honor, Georgetown opted to establish the Michael Jurist Club Sports Award and each April the University chooses which sports teams and participants receive the award. The top plaque on the right includes the names of the recipients up to 2014-2015, a second plaque (bottom) was created to include 2015-2016 recipeints and beyond.

  • 2007-2008: Joel Johnson, Club Triathlon
  • 2008-2009: Michelle Laughlin and Alex Pape, Club Triathlon
  • 2009-2010: Nick Calta, Club Tennis
  • 2010-2011: James Barneo, Club Volleyball
  • 2011-2012: Alisha Kramer, Women's Ultimate Club
  • 2012-2013: Tim Dougherty, Georgetown University Running Club President 2012; and Allie Hahn, President of the Georgetown University Women's Club Soccer Team (Fall 2010 - Senior Year 2012).
  • 2013-2014: Matt Chung, Club Running; and Maggie Axelrod, Club Rock Climbing - two outstanding students and strong leaders for their organizations.
  • 2014-2015: Tyler Patrick, Club Badminton; and Kristen Craddock, Women's Club Squash - two terrific leaders for their teams and in the community overall.
  • 2015-2016: Danielle Olney, a founding member of Club Figure Skating Team recognized for her leadership and community service; and Max Wheeler, President of Club Baseball, described as a passionate leader, dedicated mentor and team player.
  • 2016-2017: Michelle Carey, Captain of Women’s Ultimate Frisbee; and Payton Henson, Club Rock Climbing — two very dedicated performers and leaders of their organizations.
  • 2017-2018: Anna “Mayze” Teitler, Captain of Club Fencing, whose selfless leadership, boundless enthusiasm and priceless mentorship led her peers to new heights competitively and in camaraderie.
  • 2018-2019: Patrick Foley, MSB ’19, a truly fantastic leader for Men’s Club Lacrosse over the past two years. He was an integral part of bringing the team together from being in hiatus for two years to leading their regional league in competitiveness.
  • 2019-2020: Emily Jonsson ‘20, an incredible student leader fully-involved with Club Sports for over three years, served as Chair of the Advisory Board for Club Sports and as President of Club Tennis during her Senior Year. Her additional interests and involvements included New Student Orientation, Campus Ministries and Senior Class committees.

In addition to this award, a plaque was created by Georgetown's Center for Student Programs to honour Michael and highlight the establishment of the Club Sports award.

Michael would have loved this:
In the 2011-2012 school year, Georgetown Club Tennis Team was nominated for Georgetown's Outstanding Student Organization Award - a huge honor - but was not selected as the winner. However, in our minds, because of Michael's connection to the Team and their steadfast support via "The Duel" annually, Club Tennis IS the most outstanding.

Club Sports Awards
Club Sports Award